spacer Simulating The Robot

While I was building the mechanical aspects of the robot I though about how I would write the software. I've only been coding for microcontrollers for a few years but I've already learned that debugging the code is tricky. If you don't have a proper in-circuit debugger (ICD) or a reliable method to get information out to where you can see it (maybe an LCD display) it's hard to know what's going on. My Pickit2 can do limited ICD but it's quirky and sometimes the dsPIC33 gets into a weird mode where it's hard to program so I reserve this for the knottiest of problems.

I decided that since I'm new to inverse kinematics and walking gaits that I ought to write a simple simulator so I could learn in a friendly environment. For Windows, I code in VB6 classic. Sucks to be obsolete and deprecated but it still works. The result is an untidy but handy tool that allows me to see a stick representation of the robot and that allows me to make it walk.

The model doesn't yet account for the centre of gravity (CG). The two legged gait for the quadruped is therefore impractical unless the movement is very fast, perhaps short steps. Thus the momentum of the robot might keep it from tipping much before the legs are back on the ground. Alternately one might be able to add a gyro and use body tilting to aid balance during movement. Something to work on once the robot is built. Animals manage this type of movement so something should be possible.

Fabricating Gaits

I purposely haven't looked deeply at how other robots create their gaits in an attempt to keep my options open. There's hardly a point to replicating what others have done as many have already done it extraordinarily well. I'm hoping that I can contribute some new ideas.

My approach is to use forces and to let walking occur as an emergent property. Emergent means that something has not specifically been programmed but that it occurs as a natural consequence of simpler rules.