spacer The Story So Far - May 31, 2011

I've been attacking this project via several parallel streams. In this post I'll outline what progress I've made in each. Future posts will examine individual streams in more detail.

Hardware

When I first thought about doing this project I started playing with the hardware first. There are a lot of good designs from which to draw inspiration. At the same time it's important not to dwell on them too much or they'll stifle your imagination. Once you see a good solution to a problem it's hard to find a better one.

I recall attending a lecture in the Chemistry Department where I work. The researcher outlined the innovative work they'd done and the excellent results they'd achieved. He finished his lecture by saying "Of course if I'd checked the literature before I started I'd have realized that what I was trying to do was impossible. It's a good thing I didn't know that".

The problems that most walkers struggle against are weight and rigidity. Some walkers are light but wobble precariously. Others are built like tanks but burn through batteries and servos like popcorn. Composites like carbon fibre can produce both light and rigid frames but are expensive. I decided to use 1/8" MDF which weights about 0.22g/sq.cm. This material is rigid, easy to cut and above all cheap. :-) I can easily prototype parts on a small home built CNC milling machine (perhaps a topic for another post one day).

Walker as of May 2011
The state of the walker as of May 2011

Electronics

I like to build things myself so I am avoiding existing commercial boards. Partly this is also because of cost. Any board you can buy, you can probably build for half the price or less. More so in scale.

Most of my recent projects have involved Microchip PIC chips. The dsPIC33 series run at 80MHz and provide 40 MIPs of processing power. They require few external components and are cheap and easy to find. I buy mostly from Digikey these days.